top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Bristol Beaufighter


An aircraft fully deserving of a new book, the Beaufighter is now one of the latest subjects of Key Publishing's excellent series of books. This one written by aviation historian, Graham Pitchfork.


The Beaufighter proved to be a such an adaptable aircraft, that it would serve in a variety of roles including night-fighter, ground-attack & anti-shipping roles.

As the author states, 'the aircraft's range & devastating fire power would prove crucial over many years.'


Those years & the many roles are told extremely well with chapters covering many different theatres of battle.


The book, like all in this series, has excellent photos included. Many in this book reveal dramatic images of the raids & the resulting damage taken from the onboard cameras.


The end of the Second World War would see the end of many serving aircraft, but not for the Beaufighter.

In 1948 it would see action again in 'Operation Firedog', also known as the 'Malayan Emergency.'

It's final operation was in 1950, & would bring in its tenth year of service.

The book fittingly ends by remembering the many pilots who flew the aircraft, & pays tribute to the ground crews who kept them flying.


If you have read any of my previous reviews, then you will know what a fan of this series I've become.

I do highly recommend these books to you.


My thanks to Pen & Sword Books for my review copy.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update

Hello! I thought those of you who followed me here deserved a little update. Friday 31st is the completion date for the new house, so naturally I have been on Twitter less whilst packing, & I was alwa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page