top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Avro Vulcan: The Early Years, 1947-64


The Vulcan will always have a place in so many people's hearts, & remains a much missed aircraft in our skies, still today.

I will never forget standing at RAF Waddington as XH558 made one of its final flights, back in 2015.

Now Key Publishing have released this illustrated history, written by one of the founders of the Avro Heritage Museum at Woodford.


First thing to say is, do not be put off by the book's thickness. This book packs a heck of a lot into its 95 pages, & certainly felt far bigger.

Despite its illustrated description, there is plenty of text to read alongside the fabulous photographs, diagrams & drawings.

Unlike other books I have, this one tells the Vulcan's story with a chapter for each year. This undoubtedly is a great plus if, like me, you are not technically minded, as the design & specification information & changes is not all grouped together. Infact the author has even made this difficult subject much more readable.


The book covers everything from the early designs, the tests & flights, to production & armament.

While the last Vulcan was built in 1964, hence the sub-title, the author briefly provides a history beyond this, including Operation Black Buck & XH558's final years.

A very useful list of the locations of the remaining Vulcans is also included.


This is a fabulous little book that I have thoroughly enjoyed reading, & one I will happily refer back to for many years to come.


This book is published by Key Publishing, & I my thanks to Pen & Sword Books for this review copy.






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update

Hello! I thought those of you who followed me here deserved a little update. Friday 31st is the completion date for the new house, so naturally I have been on Twitter less whilst packing, & I was alwa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page