top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Churchill's Desert Rats


We see the Desert Rats appear in so many books on the Second World War. This is the first of two that was written by the late author, himself a veteran of the war, who went on to write many military books.

First released twenty years ago, it is now republished by Pen & Sword.


This book covers the campaigns in North Africa thorough to the defeat of Italy. Throughout the book the battles are covered in great detail with maps regularly included, which I found of huge benefit. There are many eyewitness quotes from those that fought, helping to give a real sense of what it was like.


One piece that really stuck with me was a medical officer's report stating what a 24 hour period was like for those having to fight in the tanks, in the heat of the desert. It only increases my admiration for these men.


I was delighted to see the author praise Barry Pitt's books on the Desert War, both are personal favourites of mine. Now this book will be a great companion to those, & has added immensely to my knowledge.

I shall look forward to eventually reading the second volume covering North-west Europe, & up to the war's end.

A really enjoyable read.


Thanks to Pen & Sword Books.


54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update

Hello! I thought those of you who followed me here deserved a little update. Friday 31st is the completion date for the new house, so naturally I have been on Twitter less whilst packing, & I was alwa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page