top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Eyewitness At Dieppe



* Briefly addressing the front cover.

This is actually the first-hand account by the only journalist, Walter Reyburn, who went ashore with the Canadian troops.


This new book is written & edited by Walter's son, who introduces us to his father.

Walter bravely went to Dieppe as a war correspondent.

On his return, he wrote the book, 'Rehearsal For Invasion', which became a wartime bestseller. That 100+ page account is reprinted in full within this book.


Ross shares how his father later attacked Mountbatten in a newspaper article for his part in the raid, as well as other books covering the Dieppe raid, that he deemed did not tell the truth.

I do disagree with Ross' own comments where he completely dismisses the idea that the raid was, or partly was a 'pinch raid'. There is certainly enough recent evidence to suggest this.

But the star, and indeed the focus of this book is Walter's fascinating account.


It wasn't planned to happen that way, but Walter ended up in one of the first boats to land as well as being in the last ship to leave. He was no less a target for the Germans despite being unarmed. In fact he was to return wounded himself.

While ashore he witnessed some horrific scenes, but there were others that in the middle of a battle seemed quite remarkable. One such moment was seeing a local French cyclist who with french bread now collected in his basket, turned back for home despite a significant number of German snipers firing!


So engaged was I in Walter's account, I actually read it all in one sitting!

Before this book, I had no knowledge of Walter's story, but I'm delighted to have been able to read it now.


Now available from Pen & Sword Books, who I must thank for my review copy.


92 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Update

Hello! I thought those of you who followed me here deserved a little update. Friday 31st is the completion date for the new house, so naturally I have been on Twitter less whilst packing, & I was alwa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page